REPORT FOR: COUNCIL

Date of Meeting: 19 July 2018

Subject: Honorary Freedom of the London Borough of

Harrow

Responsible Officer: Hugh Peart - Director of Legal and

Governance Services

Exempt: No

Enclosures: Draft Resolution

Summary and Recommendations

The conferment of Honorary Freedom of the Borough is to recognise persons of distinction or organisations with eminent service to and with connections with the London Borough of Harrow.

To mark the commitment and diligent service of Christine Bednell as a Councillor of the London Borough of Harrow, it is proposed to confer on her the Honour of Freedom of the Borough.

The power to award the Honour of Freedom of the Borough is contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972. To invoke the provisions of Section 249 it is required that a Special Meeting of the full Council be convened for the purpose.

Recommendations:

That in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council of the London Borough of Harrow resolve to:

- confer the honour of Freedom of the Borough of Harrow on Christine Bednell in recognition of her 47 years outstanding and diligent service as a Councillor;
 - (ii) subject to (i) grant the Freedom by way of an illuminated Scroll to be presented to the recipient;
 - (ii) make the Presentation of the Scroll at the next meeting of Council.

1 Statutory Background

Section 249 (5) of the Local Government Act 1972 provides:

"Subject as follows, a relevant authority may admit to be honorary freemen or freewomen of the place or area for which it is the authority—(a) persons of distinction, and (b) persons who have, in the opinion of the authority, rendered eminent services to that place or area."

2. Harrow Context

- 2.1 Previously the Council has conferred Honorary Freedom of the Borough upon
 - the late Sir Winston Churchill:
 - (William Allen (1968);
 - A. E. Amor (1968);
 - Charles Jordan (1968);
 - Francis Telfer (1968);
 - George Gange (1977);
 - Horace Cutler (1977);
 - the late Sir Roger Bannister (2004);
 - Sir Paul Nurse(2011);
 - The Girls' Brigade North West London District (2014); and
 - 1454 (Harrow) Squadron Air Training Corps (2014)
- 2.2 Christine Bednell was first elected to the Council in May 1968 as a Member for the ward of Wealdstone North and then again in 1974 for the ward of West Harrow and has served continuously to date. Since 1986 Councillor Bednell has represented the ward of Stanmore Park. In May 2018 she retired having completed 47 years as a Councillor of the London Borough of Harrow.
- 2.3 She served on various Council Committees including Cabinet, the Policy and Resources Committee, Education, Arts and Leisure Committee, Overview and Scrutiny Committee, School Organisation Committee and Call-In Sub-Committee. She has also held the Portfolios for Children's Services, Lifelong Learning and Cultural Services and Issues facing Older People, and Schools and Development. Christine Bednell has made a major impact in the areas of Education and Social Services.
- 2.4 Christine Bednell represented the Council on numerous outside bodies including ALG Culture and Tourism Panel, John Pardoe Charity, as Lead Member for Children and Young People on London Councils, Mayor of Harrow's Charity Fund Trustees and Sir John Wolstenholme Charity.
- 2.4 In the municipal year 1985, Christine Bednell held the office of Deputy Mayor and in 1986 was Mayor of the London Borough of Harrow.
- 2.5 Since the creation of the London Borough of Harrow in 1964, no other Councillor has given such long and diligent service.
- 2.6 In 2016 the Council recorded their appreciation of the 45 years' service by Christine Bednell as a Councillor of the London Borough of Harrow.

.

3. Process

- 3.1 If the Council wished to proceed with the conferment of the title of Freedom of the Borough a resolution must be passed by not less than two thirds of the members present at this specially convened meeting of the Council.
- 3.2 This report is submitted with the support of the Mayor, Leader of the Council and Leader of the Conservative Group.

4. Financial and Legal Implications

4.1 There is no specific provision for any expenditure arising from this matter and budget provision will have to be sourced within current resources. All legal implications are as contained in this report.

Section 3 - Statutory Officer Clearance

Name: Dawn Calvert	X	Chief Financial Officer
Date: 10 July 2018		
Name: Hugh Peart	X	Monitoring Officer
Date: 5 July 2018		

Contact Details and Background Papers

Contact: Elaine McEachron, Democratic Electoral & Registration Services Manager.

Tel: 020 8424 1097 E-mail: elaine.mceachron@harrow.gov.uk

Background Papers: Historical Reports